Talk to our advisors to understand your English level and register for a course  
 Book a consultation 

If you are trying to determine your level of English proficiency, you may be familiar with the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). But do you know what it is? Well, it is a way of describing language ability and is often used to help language learners choose learning materials and courses at the right level.

The CEFR has six levels, from A1 for beginners, up to C2 for users who are proficient in the language. Levels are divided into three blocks: A or basic user, B or independent user and C or proficient user. For each level, the CEFR describes what a learner can do when speaking, reading, listening, and writing in English. 

If you need to prove your level of English for study, work, or moving to another country, the CEFR allows you to compare the results or level obtained in examinations such as IELTS, Aptis or Cambridge with those required by educational or other institutions and organisations.

Level and equivalence IELTS
A1 - Elementary -
A2 - Pre-Intermediate 3.5
B1 - Intermediate 4-5
B2 - Upper intermediate 5.5-6.5
C1 - Advanced 7-8
C2 - Proficiency 8.5-9

English levels